Test your level
Testimonials
Photo Gallery

Hello, my name is Frances and I have been an EFL (English as a Foreign Language) teacher for three years, having successfully completed the TESOL Certificate in January 2010.  I have been a journalist, copywriter, author and PR consultant for the last 30+ years, and teach both general and business English.

I have given one-to-one tuition to people from different countries in Europe, South America and Asia, and also teach groups from all over Europe. Lessons focus on speaking, listening, pronunciation, and reading or writing, according to the needs of each client.  With a background in journalism/writing I often find myself working with people writing business documents and I am currently working with a client towards the IELTS exam. 

I am married to Ian and we have one son, Mike, who now lives in London, and I have two married step-daughters. We have one cat and one dog (a black Labrador), who live in the kitchen area.

We live in Chipstead, Surrey which is conveniently located for the M25, Gatwick, Heathrow and London (35 minutes by train from Chipstead station). Our house is Farm Cottage, a very English cottage that has three bedrooms, three reception rooms and a large garden.  It is surrounded by trees and fields but is only one mile from shops.

Chipstead is a lovely English village with plenty of sporting activities and fantastic walks across fields and through woodland. It is only three miles from Banstead, a small town, and Reigate, an interesting town with historical sites including a fort at the top of Reigate Hill where the view stretches for miles.  Both towns have plenty of interesting shops and cafes.  

Places to visit:
Polesden Lacey, National Trust stately home and gardens, www.nationaltrust.org.uk
Hever Castle, childhood home of Anne Boleyn (Henry VIII’s wife) and beautiful gardens, www.hevercastle.co.uk
Wisley, Royal Horticultural Society (RHS) gardens, indoor tropical plant centre, www.rhs.org.uk/Wisley-Garden
Denbies Wine Estate, you can do a tour of the vineyards and winery, www.denbies.co.uk
London:  tour around the south bank, the London Eye, Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square, St Martin’s in the Fields church, the National Gallery, Westminster and the Houses of Parliament. Also Oxford Street, Knightsbridge (Harrod’s), London Bridge – Southwark Cathedral, Borough Market, St Paul’s Cathedral, and much more.

Frances.and.Ian.O.Donnell.000O.DonnellgardenO.Donnell.bedroom

We have many more host teachers Enquire here!

Hi, my name is Christine and I live in Kendal, Cumbria with my daughter Lucy and son, Nick.

We look forward to welcoming you into our 5 bedroom detached home set in picturesque countryside. It was built in 1841 and retains many of its original features.

Kendal is known as the gateway to the Lake District and so you'll have lots to see and do here!

We have 2 friendly dogs and a few hens so you'll have fresh eggs for breakfast!

I have a teaching certificate and have over 15 years of teaching experience.

I am currently completing my TEFL qualification which will prepare my for teaching English to foreign learners.

In my spare time, I enjoy gardening, travel, cooking, music and walking with my dogs. Lucy enjoys cooking and Nick is at university in term time; he enjoys gardening and sports.

We're quite a musical family and have a number of instruments at home which you're welcome to play too!

We look forward to meeting you soon.

Chris.and.lucy.002Greenfield.bedroomgreenfield.bedroom2Greenfield.lounge

Hello, my name is Mary Ellen and I live in West Sussex with my husband.

We live in a lovely 4 bedroom detached house in a quiet residential street.

I am qualified to teach English to foreign learners and have taught for a number of years. In my spare time I enjoy gardening, travel, cinema, pilates and reading.

We live in Haywards Heath which is very near to numerous cultural attractions e.g. National Trust gardens and properties, Bluebell Railway, Ditchling Vineyard.

We also live near to Brighton which has a lively city atmosphere with lots of shops, restaurants and, of course, Brighton Pavilion, Pier and Marina.

Students can choose between 15 or 20 hours of tuition per week which are generally given during morning sessions.   You will be staying in a large double bedroom/study with WiFi connection, facing the garden and with your own private bathroom?.  You will have access to laundry facilities if required.

We’re a ‘pet friendly’ household and have a miniature Yorkshire Terrier called Beau.

You'll enjoy a twice-weekly typically English social event: a pub evening or dinner out locally with English friends, a visit to a local cinema or a local theatre production or possibly, a visit to one of the many National Trust properties and gardens that are located all around the area. We can also arrange a trip to Brighton or a trip up to London for the day as part of your social event.  It is entirely flexible around your needs. 

Students usually fly into London Heathrow or Gatwick airport and there is a train that runs from London Gatwick to my local train station and I can collect you from there.
 
An English language homestay will give you a real insight into both the English language that we speak and English culture; I know you'll be really pleased with the results!

We have many more host teachers. Enquire here!

Hello, our names are Matthew and Charlie and we live in the beautiful countryside of Herefordshire - in the heart of England.

We are non-smokers, both in our 30's and enjoy a wide range of activities including hiking, cycling, and jogging etc. We also enjoy cooking and music.

We live in a traditional 4 bedroom cottage which has many original features including wood burners, making it very cosy all year round!

We can teach and accommodate single students, couples and families as we have 2 double bedrooms and a single bedroom available.

Although we live in the countryside, we are only 5 miles away from the nearest city and are well served by public transport.

We are both qualified English teachers and have taught foreign students of all ages and abilities.

We love meeting new people and enjoy sharing our lovely home with friends and guests.

We have many more host teachers. Enquire here

matt.and.charlotte.kitchen matt.and.charlotte.view Mattand CharlottecottageMatt.and.Charlotte

Sue (aged 58 years) lives in a large Staffordshire village with her husband Andy (aged 51 years). Stafford is approx. 40 minutes (by car) from Birmingham.

The village is on the Shropshire Union Canal where traditional narrow boats can be seen (from two canal-side pubs if you wish). Village activities include fetes, barn dances, etc. There are other beautiful villages nearby.

There is a good bus service to Stafford, Newport, Telford and Shrewsbury and easy access by road to Stafford (railway station, theatre, cinema, music venues, sports centre, shopping.

Nearby, you'll find Stoke on Trent, Wedgewood Museum, very good shopping and excellent theatres for both music and drama.

We are not far from the Peak District National Park which has stunning countryside.

We are a large, close family who like nothing better than to get together and to enjoy ourselves.

We have many more host teachers. Enquire here

Sue and Andy Family and friends
Sue and her husband, Michael

Sue lives with her husband Michael and her son (Dominic 22 yrs old) and her daughter (Sarah 25 yrs old). The family enjoy the following hobbies – Music, gardening, the environment, dance, sports, clubs, travel, cooking, going to music concerts and comedy.

Sue is degree qualified (B.A English and French). She also has an additional CELTA qualification and has been teaching for 14 years.

Michael is a professional musician.

Our Home

The family lives in a 5 bed room Edwardian house in a residential area of Birmingham. They are close to bus and train routes and have easy access to Birmingham City centre.

They also have a very large garden and a large recording studio with the following instruments – guitars, keyboards (electronic and acoustic pianos), harmonica and drums.

The following local amenities are available – swimming, tennis, golf, sports centre, theatre/cinema.

There is a smoker in the family but they say that they will only smoke in certain areas of the house when they accommodate a non-smoking student.

The family has 1 family pet – a cat.

The family has been accommodating foreign students for the past 18 years and they wish to have students who are polite and respectful.

We have many more host teachers. Enquire here

My name is Louise and I live in a village called Codsall, in the Heart of England. I am 32 years old and I enjoy cycling, travel, badminton, roller skating, reading and listening to music. Codsall is very rural with Bridgnorth a short drive away.I live with my friend, Jackie and we have a pet Schitzu dog called Smartie.

Our Home

We live in a 3 bed room semi-detached house and our nearest city is Wolverhampton. We are a 2 minute walk to the railway station which goes straight to Wolverhampton and via Wolverhampton to Birmingham. We are also on a main bus route.

I began teaching in 1992 (Travel and Tourism) and I've taught English in Russia, India and Malaysia.

I have the following qualifications – BA (Further, Adult and Higher Education) and Trinity TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages).

I am able to teach general and business English, presentation skills, travel and tourism and geography.

We live 45 minutes away from Birmingham International Airport and about 35 minutes away from Birmingham city centre.

We can offer the following facilities:

  • A car
  • A computer/internet access
  • A garden
  • Swimming nearby
  • Tennis, golf and horse riding nearby
  • Sports Centre, Theatre and Cinema nearby

I love being outdoors on my bike and I enjoy showing students around the countryside of Codsall and the city of Wolverhampton. I enjoy hosting and teaching students and I look forward to welcoming you into our home.

We have many more host teachers. Enquire here

Louise Our garden Our student bedroom

Hello, my name is Christine and I live in a small village in Worcester. I am 57 years old and I enjoy animals, walking and swimming. I have 27 years of teaching experience and was also a head teacher of a school. I have the following qualifications – BA, MA, PGCE.

I live with my husband, John (he looks after our alpacas). He is aged 68 years and enjoys gardening and walking. I have a son aged 34 yrs and he enjoys sports, walking and cooking. I work 2 days a week as a teacher and John stays at home.

Our home

We live in a 4 bedroom bungalow in a country village. We're surrounded by beautiful countryside and our famous Malvern Hills are very nearby.

The centre of Birmingham can be reached by car in less than an hour.

We can offer the following facilities:

  • A car
  • A computer/internet access
  • A garden
  • A private bathroom
  • Swimming near by
  • Tennis, golf and horse riding nearby
  • Sports Centre, cinema, theatre nearby

I have hosted foreign students for over 13 years and have taught them English and other skills. We have all thoroughly enjoyed this experience. I look forward to seeing you soon!

We have many more host teachers. Enquire here

Christine, John and grandchild Our HomeOur Student Bedroom
Book Now
Homestay on You Tube
Brochure Request
Newsletter Signup

New Teachers, New Areas

Newsflash!

We now have new teachers in the following areas:

Hereford

Kendal (Lake District)

Sussex

Brighton

Surrey 

We're really excited to be able to offer you even more choice of locations for your full immersion English course.

We're adding their profiles to the 'Meet a Host' page so check them out now!

Mumpreneur 2011 Award

BIRMINGHAM BASED "MUMPRENEUR" REACHES FINALS OF NATIONAL BUSINESS AWARDS

Local mum and entrepreneur, Lorna Allen, has earned herself a place in the final lineup of The Mumpreneur Awards, an annual ceremony aimed at celebrating parents throughout the UK who manage the difficult task of juggling business with family life.

The mother of 2 runs Live and Learn Homestays Ltd., an organisation offering personalised English courses and leisure activities to people visiting the Midlands region from abroad. Lorna's customers (homestay guests) benefit from a full immersion experience where they are placed with host families and have the unique opportunity to improve their English skills and learn about British culture through sharing their host families' lives.

Lorna Allen, Director of Live and Learn Homestays tells NetworkMilan.com how you can improve your English and feel at home in the “Heart of England”

Live and Learn Homestays Ltd is a small English language homestay company based in Birmingham, the "Heart of England", in the UK. The company is owned and managed by Lorna Allen, a local entrepreneur who worked part-time as a homestay tutor and local organiser for a large, international language homestay company for over seven years.

Read full article here: www.networkmilan.com